Wednesday, 7 December 2011

The European Union in Durban

The European Union is, as expected, contributing significantly to make the Durban COP 17 climate change jamboree a success - for airlines offering first and business class flights and the Durban luxury hotels. Nobody will probably know exactly how many official EU climate tourists delegates are finally to join the mega beach party, but we could well be talking about hundreds.

The European Parliament already has a delegation of 15 MEP:s (plus a number of assistants) in Durban, led by the German social democrat Jo Leinen:

Delegation members

Chair Jo Leinen (S&D, DE), Vice-chair Karl-Heinz Florenz (EPP, DE), Kriton Arsenis (S&D, EL), Bairbre De Brún (GUE/NGL, UK), Pilar Del Castillo (EPP, ES), Bas Eickhout (Greens/EFA, NL), Elisabetta Gardini (EPP, IT), Dan Jørgensen (S&D, DK), Corinne Lepage (ALDE, FR), Vladko Panayotov (ALDE, BG), Anna Rosbach (ECR, DK), Oreste Rossi (EFD, IT), Richard Seeber (EPP, AT), Francisco Sosa Wagner (unattached, ES) and Marita Ulvskog (S&D, SE)

The MEP:s will certainly have excellent opportunities to enjoy "side events" on the beach - their official Durban schedule does not appear to be overwhelming:

In their Durban programme, MEPs will discuss negotiations with the Commission and Polish Presidency, meet counterparts from other parliaments (Japan, South Africa and Mexico), as well as local and international NGO representatives.  

  The taxpayers of Europe wish the European Parliament delegation a nice stay in Durban! Don´t forget the sun tan lotion!


No comments: