Sunday, 22 April 2012

Michael Mann - The proud winner of a Mutual Admiration Society Prize

Michael Mann, the proud winner of a Mutual Admiration Society  prize

The international global warming cult in many respects follows the traditions of other closed occult societies. One distinct feature the AGW cult shares with the rest, is the strong need to praise each other. Thus e.g. the European Geosciences Union, in the true spirit of a Mutual Admiration Society, has this week awarded its "Hans Oeschger Medal" to Dr. Michael Mann, of Climategate and "hockey stick" fame:

The medal "is reserved for scientists for their outstanding achievements in ice research and/or short term climatic changes (past, present, future)".

The EGU gives these reasons for awarding Mann: 

Michael Mann obtained his PhD from Yale University and is Professor of Meteorology at the Pennsylvania State University. Mann deserves the award on the basis of his important contributions to the understanding of climate change over the last two millennia but also for pioneering statistical techniques for isolating climate signals in noisy data. He has chosen to work primarily in paleoclimate, but he has a strong mathematical and statistical background. Together, these strengths have made him a leader in his field. Mann’s climate reconstruction of the last 1000 years is popularly known as the “Hockey Stick” and gave tremendous impetus to the study of historical climate change, even though some questions remains about the magnitude of these past changes. By doing so, he had to face escalating political and personal attacks.

(It is interesting to note that even Mann´s ardent admirers at the EGU admit that "some questions remain" in the prize winners research!)

A look at the list of previous winners of the "Hans Oeschger Medal" brings forth a familiar face:

The first winner of the "Hans Oeschger Medal" was - surprise, surprise -  Mann´s British Climategate "colleague"

Philip D. Jones

for his remarkable contribution and sustained effort in reconstructing the climate of the last 250 years at the global and regional scales

And the chairman of the committee which awarded Mann this year is a Frenchman - Dominique Raynaud - who himself received the medal in 2008

The 2008 Hans Oeschger Medal is awarded to Dominique Raynaud for his key contribution to the reconstruction of past atmospheric composition over the last 800000 years from Antarctic ice cores and to the understanding of the link between greenhouse gases and climate.

Mann will most likely soon be in a position to award a prize - and plenty of research funding - to some "distinguished" European member of the Mutual Admiration Society. 

This is the way the science of climatology works ....

No comments: